Projects

All objects in LityxIQ, whether datasets, charts, dashboards, models, etc., are organized into 'Projects'.  At any point in time while working within LityxIQ, there is a currently active project.  This can be viewed in the upper right area of the LityxIQ platform.


 

Changing Projects

To change the currently active project, click the Change Project menu in the upper right of the LityxIQ window and select the project.  If you do not see a project on the list, it is likely due to the fact that you do not have permissions for it.  You will need to check with your system administrator or the project owner to add you as a user for the project.

 

Managing Projects

If you have permission to manage projects on the LityxIQ instance, you will have access to the Admin menu in the upper right corner, and can select Project Management from that menu.
 

Project Permissions
Projects are also a method for ensuring only users or groups with appropriate permissions have access to certain data, models, or other objects.  Permissions can be set separately for each Project.  If you have permissions to manage projects and change project permissions, you will see Project Management in the Admin menu on the upper right of LityxIQ.  

You will now see all projects to which you have access, as well as buttons for creating a new project and actions for individual projects.

 

Creating a New Project

Click the Create New Project button.  Give the project a name and description.  Click OK.  You will then be asked to set user and group permissions for the project.  See https://support.lityxiq.com/331940-Using-the-Permissions-Setting-Dialog if you need help with the permissions setting dialog.

 

Changing Project Permissions

Click the project and select Edit Permissions from the Selected Project menu (or right click and select from the menu).  Then follow help at https://support.lityxiq.com/331940-Using-the-Permissions-Setting-Dialog if necessary.

 

Changing the Name or Description of a Project

Click the project and select Edit Permissions from the Selected Project menu (or right click and select from the menu).  Then type a new name and/or description and click OK.

 

Deactivating or Deleting a Project

To fully delete a project requires two steps.  Take care when deleting a project because it will delete all objects in that project completely.  Note: you cannot take these steps on the current project.  You will have to switch to a different project to begin deleting it.

Step 1 is to deactivate it.  Select the project then click Deactivate from the Selected Project menu.  This will deactivate the project.  The effect of this is that it will no longer be available for users to switch to the project and will not be able to do any work in it.  But in the de-activated state, all data and all objects are maintained.  The project can be activated again by selecting it, and clicking Activate from the Selected Project menu.

Step 2 is to delete it.  Select the de-activated project, then click Delete from the Selected Project menu.  This operation may take a while for a large project with many datasets, models, and other objects.

 

Other Articles